14/09/2017 9:14 AM IST | Updated 14/09/2017 9:15 AM IST

Now, You Can Translate Seven More Indian Languages On Google

The app will allow its users to translate even visuals like road signs in English to these regional languages. 

Bloomberg via Getty Images

NEW DELHI -- Tech giant Google on Wednesday said its 'Translate' app will support seven more Indian languages, including Bengali, Gujarati and Kannada, to enable users to translate even visuals like road signs in English to these regional languages.

"In an effort to bring down language barriers, Google announced several updates to its Translate App. Google Translate has also added support for conversation mode in regional languages including Bengali and Tamil," the US-based firm said in a statement.

Already started on Wednesday, users in Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu can experience offline translations and instant visual translation in these languages, it added.

Offline support will enable Indian language users to translate a word or sentence even when they are not connected to the internet.

To use offline translations capabilities, users will need to download the specific language pack from the Translate app when connected to the internet.

The Translate app allows users to use the camera mode to capture a photo of English text and get a translation for it in these languages.

With Word Lens feature, users can instantly translate text using their camera to understand visuals like street signs or restaurant menus that are written in English.

These features are already available for the Hindi language on the Google Translate app.

Also on HuffPost India:

Photo gallery Hrithik Roshan's House See Gallery