26/07/2019 6:36 PM IST

Yediyurappa Takes Oath As Karnataka Chief Minister For Fourth Time

The BJP leader has to prove majority in the Karnataka Assembly by 31 July.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images

Karnataka BJP President BS Yediyurappa was on Friday sworn in as Chief Minister for the fourth time, two days after the collapse of HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JD(S) government.

Yediyurappa met Governor Vajubhai Vala to stake the claim and requested him to administer the oath of office and secrecy Friday itself, following which Vala invited him to form the government.

He will have to prove his majority by 31 July. “I am 101 percent confident of getting the numbers,” he told NDTV.

This will be the fourth stint for Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister — the last one was after the May 2018 Assembly polls.

He had to resign just three days after being sworn in. He was unable to muster majority after staking claim to form the government on the grounds that his party had emerged as the single largest one. 

The Congress-JD(S) government collapsed on Tuesday after 99 MLAs voted in favour of the confidence motion moved by Kumaraswamy and 105 against it. 

(With PTI inputs)