26/04/2019 1:37 PM IST

Voting In Mumbai: 2019 Election Date, Candidates And More

Everything you need to about Mumbai's polling day, candidates and how to vote.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections are underway with three phases already complete. Mumbai goes to polls in the fourth phase on 29 April.

The city has six Lok Sabha seats — Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central and Mumbai South — and close to 96 lakh registered voters.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in alliance with the Shiv Sena in the city, while the Congress has tied up with Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

For the latest elections news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

These are the candidates in each of the six seats in Mumbai:

Mumbai NorthUrmila Matondkar (Congress), Gopal Shetty (BJP)

Mumbai North-WestGajanan Kirtikar (Shiv Sena), Sanjay Nirupam (Congress)

Mumbai North-EastManoj Kotak (BJP), Sanjay Dina Patil (NCP)

Mumbai North-CentralPriya Dutt (Congress), Poonam Mahajan (BJP)

Mumbai South-CentralEknath Gaikwad (Congress), Rahul Shewale (Shiv Sena)

Mumbai SouthMilind Deora (Congress), Arvind Sawant (Shiv Sena)

In 2014, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance had swept up all 6 seats in the city. The results this year will have a bearing on the assembly polls due in Maharashtra in October.

How to vote

1. First things first. Make sure your name is on the voter list (here’s how you can check).

2. Check your polling booth (here’s how).

3. Here’s what you do at the polling station.

4. Mobile phones, cameras and other such gadgets are not allowed inside the booth.

5. Don’t have a voter ID? You could use these IDs instead.