30/11/2019 3:26 PM IST | Updated 30/11/2019 3:50 PM IST

Thackeray Wins Floor Test, Sworn In As Maharashtra Chief Minister

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
MUMBAI, INDIA - NOVEMBER 28: Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray during his swearing-in ceremony at Shivaji Park on November 28, 2019 in Mumbai, India. (Photo by Anshuman Poyrekar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Ending the month long political battle of twists and turns, the Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government of the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress alliance on Saturday won the crucial floor test after getting 169 votes in their favour in the Maharashtra assembly.

For the latest news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

The floor test comes after a week of rapid developments that began with a surprise oath by the BJP leader and former CM Devendra Fadnavis early morning and his eventual resignation 80 hours later.

Meanwhile, Fadnavis today said that the party  will submit a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House as the floor test was conducted without the election of the speaker.

“We are going to submit a letter to the Governor asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House, and that the House should follow the Constitution,” Fadnavis told reporters. The arty has objected to the removal of Kalidas Kolambkar as the interim Speaker and said it may approach the Supreme Court.

Pro tem speaker Dilip Walse Patil however rejected Fadnavis’ claim of an ‘illegal session’, saying its is being held as per governor’s directions.

The Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress, with the support of some Independents and others like Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, have a strength of 165 MLAs, comfortably higher than the majority mark of 145 in the 288-member assembly. The three parties together have 154 MLAs.

The Speaker of the assembly will be elected tomorrow. While the Congress’s Nana Patole will be the candidate from the Sena-NCP-Congress alliance, the BJP announced that MLA Kishan Kathore will be its candidate for the Speaker’s post. The new Speaker will then announce the name of the Leader of Opposition in the assembly.


US Election
The latest polls, breaking news and analysis on the 2020 US presidential election from HuffPost