03/05/2019 3:50 PM IST

Rajnath Singh Is Most Likely To Win BJP Bastion Lucknow

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh is seeking a re-election from Lucknow.

Union Home Minister and incumbent BJP MP from Lucknow Rajnath Singh is contesting the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from the Lucknow Lok Sabha constituency. Singh’s opponents from the seat this year are Samajwadi Party’s Poonam Sinha (profile) and Congress’s Pramod Krishnam.

Singh has a huge chance of winning in the seat considered a BJP stronghold. The party has held the seat since 1991. Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee won from the seat for five consecutive terms. While Singh is considered a political heavyweight, his opponent Sinha is contesting for the first time and Krishnam unsuccessfully contested from the Sambhal constituency in 2014.

For the latest elections news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

The campaigning in Lucknow has been civil compared to many other parts of the country.  Singh, who has also been the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh between 2000 and 2002, has been trying to portray an image of balance by visiting temples and Muslim clerics during his campaign.

Singh seems confident of a big win from Lucknow. He led a massive road show in the Uttar Pradesh capital in April before filing his nomination. “India has surged ahead under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the entire world has acknowledged the fact that Modi has done wonders to help the country attain great heights. I have toured 10 states and the attraction towards Modi is amazing. The entire country wants to see him re-elected as the prime minister,” he said at a gathering of BJP party workers.

To the crowd at his roadshow, Singh said, “I am your MP and a candidate again. You know me well, I don’t need to say more.”

Singh has been a politician for over four decades. He was made the District President of the Jana Sangh in 1975. He became an MLA in 1977 and became an MP in the Rajya Sabha in 1994. He was the minister of agriculture in Vajpayee’s cabinet between 2003 and 2004. He was also the president of the BJP before Amit Shah from 2013 and 2014.