18/04/2019 10:32 AM IST | Updated 18/04/2019 6:26 PM IST

Polling Percentage For Phase 2 Of Lok Sabha Polls

Polling is underway in 95 Lok Sabha seats across 11 states and the union territory of Puducherry.

Getty Images
Voters queue up to cast their vote at a polling station in Bulandshahr, Uttar Pradesh on 18 April 2019, in the second phase of the Lok Sabha election. 

The Election Commission released the polling percentage till 9 am for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

Turnout till 5 pm:

Assam: 73.32 percent
Bihar: 58.15 percent
Chhattisgarh: 68.70 percent
Jammu and Kashmir: 43.37 percent
Karnataka: 61.80 percent
Maharashtra: 55.37 percent
Manipur: 74.69 percent
Odisha: 57.41 percent
Puducherry: 72.40 percent
Tamil Nadu: 61.52 percent
Uttar Pradesh: 58.12
West Bengal: 75.27

Turnout till 3 pm:

Manipur: 67.5 percent
Maharashtra: 46.63 percent
West Bengal: 65.43 percent
Chhattisgarh:  59.72 percent

Turnout till 1 pm:

Karnataka: 36.31 percent
Tamil Nadu: 39.49 percent
Jammu and Kashmir: 29.6 percent  

Read live updates here.

This was the state-wise turnout till 9 am:

Election Commission

Polling began on Thursday morning for 95 Lok Sabha seats spread across 11 states and the union territory of Puducherry with Tamil Nadu witnessing contest in 38 constituencies.

Voting is also underway in 35 assembly constituencies in Odisha and in 18 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.

Prominent faces in the fray in the Lok Sabha contest are Union ministers Jitendra Singh, Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan; former prime minister HD Deve Gowda; DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and Kanimozhi; Congress leaders Verappa Moily and Raj Babbar; National Conference president Farooq Abdullah and BJP’s Hema Malini.

Over 15.80 crore voters will decide the fate of the 1,600-odd contestants.

In Tamil Nadu, polling is being held in 38 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats. Polling in Vellore Lok Sabha seat was cancelled Tuesday by the Election Commission following recovery of huge amount of cash allegedly from an associate of a DMK leader recently.

The EC also announced postponement of polling in Tripura (East) Lok Sabha seat to the third phase on April 23, saying the prevailing law-and-order situation there is not conducive for holding free and fair polls.

Besides Tamil Nadu, polling is being held in 14 seats in Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra, eight in Uttar Pradesh, five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, two in Jammu and Kashmir and one seat each in Manipur and Puducherry. 

Of the 95 constituencies, the AIADMK holds the maximum of 36 seats, followed by the BJP with 27 seats. The Congress had won 12 of these seats in 2014, the Shiv Sena and the BJD 4 each, the JD-S and the RJD two each and the AIUDF, the NCP, the JD-U, the PDP, the AINRC, the PMK, the CPI-M and the TMC one seat each.

The Lok Sabha polls are being held in seven-phases for 543 seats on 11 April, 18 April, 23 April, 29 April, 6 May, 12 May and 19 May, and counting will be on 23 May.

(With PTI inputs)