19/04/2019 4:41 PM IST | Updated 12/05/2019 8:34 AM IST

Delhi Votes Today: How To Vote, Candidates And More

Everything you need to know about the candidates in Delhi and how to cast your vote.

PRAKASH SINGH via Getty Images

Delhi, which has seven Parliamentary seats, will go to polls on 12 May, the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections

To vote, your name must be on the electoral role (here’s how to check). Once you have confirmed your name in the voting list, you should check your polling booth (here is how to vote).

After months of speculation, the alliance between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress was not finalised. Both the parties and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have fielded candidates for all the seven Lok Sabha seats.

Here are the candidates from all the seats:

North-East Delhi: Sheila Dikshit (Congress), Dilip Pandey (AAP), Manoj Tiwari (BJP)

East Delhi: Arvinder Singh Lovely (Congress), Atishi (AAP), Gautam Gambhir (BJP)

West Delhi: Mahabal Mishra (Congress), Balbir Singh Jakhar (AAP), Parvesh Verma (BJP)

Chandni Chowk: JP Agarwal (Congress), Pankaj Gupta (AAP), Harsh Vardhan (BJP)

New Delhi: Ajay Makan (Congress), Brijesh Goyal (AAP), Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP)

North-West: Rajesh Lilothia (Congress), Gugan Singh (AAP), Hans Raj Hans (BJP)

South Delhi: Vijender Singh (Congress), Raghav Chadha (AAP), Ramesh Bidhuri (BJP)

The BJP won all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Now that you have checked the candidates from your seat, here is how to vote:

1. Before you leave to vote, check where your polling booth is.

2. Make sure your name is on the Election Commission’s electoral roll.

3. If you don’t have a voter’s ID, you can still vote. Just make sure you carry one of these 11 alternate IDs approved by the Election Commission.

4. Here’s what you do at the polling station.

5. Mobile phones, cameras and other such gadgets are not allowed inside the booth

(With PTI inputs)