23/03/2019 12:17 PM IST

Patra to contest from Odisha, Advani left Out

Jalandhar :The BJP has released its third list of candidates for the Lok Sabha polls containing 36 names, which included 23 nominees for Andhra Pradesh where polling will be held in the first phase on April 11. One candidate each for Assam and Meghalaya has been announced.


BJP official Twitter
HuffPost India


Some big names like Lal Krishna Advani and BC Khanduri were denied ticket in the party’s first list. Besides, the Congress also released its seventh list of its 35 candidates for and shifted Uttar Pradesh state unit chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad to Fatehpur Sikri.


BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra will contest from Puri Lok Sabha constituency in Odisha. His name figured in its second list of candidates released in the wee hours of Saturday.




Odisha parliamentary constituency will play a decisive role  for BJP as it was among the states that remained untouched by Modi wave during 2014 elections. The party could only won 21 seats while Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD) took the rest. 

Patra, known for his no-holds-barred comments is a doctor by profession and is presently an independent director on the board of Oil and Natural Gas Corporation of India (ONGC).

Meanwhile, the party also announced the second list of one candidate for Daman and Diu, which will go to polls in the third phase of the elections on April 23. Lalubhai Patel will fight from Daman and Diu Parliamentary constituency.


HuffPost India


The decision was taken in party's Central Elections Commission's (CEC) meeting presided over by BJP president Amit Shah and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Arun Jaitley and other members of CEC.