29/12/2019 2:28 PM IST | Updated 29/12/2019 2:56 PM IST

Opposition's Show Of Unity At Hemant Soren's Swearing-In Ceremony

Hemant Soren took oath as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

Hemant Soren on Sunday took oath as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand after Governor Droupadi Murmu invited him to form the government. 

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-led alliance bagged 47 (JMM 30, Congress 16 and RJD 1) seats in the recently concluded Assembly elections while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got 25. The alliance is well above the halfway mark of 41 in the 81-member assembly. 

Soon after the results were declared by the Election Commission, Soren met Congress president Sonia Gandhi and said the coalition will provide a stable government.  

For the latest news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, DMK chief MK Stalin were among those who attended the swearing-in ceremony. RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav and AAP leader Sanjay Singh were also present

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das also attended the ceremony. He lost from the Jamshedpur East seat to Independent candidate Saryu Roy. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was also invited, but JMM general secretary Supriyo Bhattacharya said he expressed inability to attend due to busy schedule. The Prime Minister, he said, assured Soren he will visit Jharkhand when he gets time.

Opposition leaders had last gathered together for the swearing-in ceremony of the short lived HD Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka.