22/02/2019 3:02 PM IST

Modi Receives Seoul Peace Prize: From Kofi Annan To Angela Merkel, Who Were The Other Winners?

PM Modi became the 14th recipient of the prize for his contribution to international cooperation.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday became the 14th recipient of the prestigious Seoul Peace Prize for 2018. He received the award for his contribution to international cooperation, fostering India’s economic growth and “furthering the development of democracy through anti-corruption and social integration efforts”.

The award was presented to Modi by the Seoul Peace Prize Foundation at a grand ceremony in Seoul. A short film on his life and achievements was also screened at the event.

When was the award established?

The Seoul Peace Prize was established in 1990 to commemorate the success of the 24th Olympic Games held in Seoul. The award was established to crystallise Korean people’s yearning for peace on the Korean peninsula and in the rest of the world.

The first prize was awarded to Juan Antonio Samaranch in 1990 in recognition of his significant contribution to world peace through sports.

Who are the other recipients?

Past laureates included former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and renowned international relief organisations like Doctors Without Borders and Oxfam.

In 1992, the award was given to George Pratt Shultz, former US Secretary of State, for his efforts toward easing international tension during his tenure.

Medecins Sans Frontieres, a small group of French doctors also known as Doctors Without Borders, received the prize in 1996. 

Then in 1998, the award was given to Annan for his efforts to strengthen the capacity of the United Nations to undertake both traditional peace-keeping missions and new initiatives in the promotion of international peace and harmony.

Oxfam was awarded the prize in 2002 for its achievements in relieving people from poverty, plight and calamity.

In 2004, Václav Havel, former president of the Czech Republic, was the recipient. The next award in 2006 was given to Muhammad Yunus, founder of the Grameen Bank, for helping the poor. 

In 2012, the award was given to Ban Ki-moon. His contribution to the growth and development of the developing countries was recognised. The next winner was German chancellor Angela Merkel in 2014 for her outstanding contribution to protecting human rights, promoting peace, and preventing war and terrorism
through international cooperation.

In 2016, Denis Mukwege, Director of Panzi Hospital, was honoured with the prize. He is helping improve women’s and children’s human rights in DR

(With PTI inputs)