23/12/2019 10:43 AM IST | Updated 23/12/2019 2:37 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly Election: Raghubar Das Trails In Jamshedpur (East) By 4,643 Votes

Independent candidate Saryu Roy is leading.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
File image of Chief Minister of Jharkhand Raghubar Das.

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is trailing in Jamshedpur (East) seat by 4,643 votes. Independent candidate Saryu Roy is leading. 

Das, during campaigning, had appealed people to vote for a “new Jharkhand”. He won the Jamshedpur (East) assembly constituency in 1995 for the first time, according to Hindustan Times, and became a member of the assembly in united Bihar. He has won the seat for four consecutive terms since.

For the latest news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

Roy, who resigned from the Raghubar Das Cabinet on November 17, was expelled by the BJP for six years for contesting against the party’s official candidate, The Telegraph reported.

Roy said it was “foolish and unnecessary act” on the part of BJP to expel him. “I have already announced in the media before filing my nomination that I have distanced myself from the party,” he was quoted as saying in The Telegraph report.

ALSO READ: Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019: BJP’s Louis Marandi Leads, Hemant Soren Trails In Dumka