16/05/2019 1:27 PM IST

Will Raj Babbar's 'Local' Connection Give Him A Win In Fatehpur Sikri?

Fatehpur Sikri is witnessing a triangular contest with Congress' Babbar, BJP’s Rajkumar Chahar and BSP’s Shreebhagwan Sharma.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images

Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Raj Babbar has been fielded from Fatehpur Sikri against BJP’s Rajkumar Chahar and BSP’s Shreebhagwan Sharma. 

Babbar was initially nominated from Moradabad, but the party later changed his seat to Fatehpur Sikri.

In 2014, he had contested from Ghaziabad and lost by a big margin to BJP’s VK Singh. He is a two-time MP from Samajwadi Party in 1999 and 2004 from the Agra Lok Sabha seat. After delimitation in 2008, Agra Lok Sabha seat became reserved.

For the latest elections news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

In the 2009 elections, he lost in Fatehpur Sikri to BSP’s Seema Upadhyay. He, however, got re-elected to the Lok Sabha from Firozabad after a by-election in 2009 by defeating Dimple Yadav.  

Babbar is banking on his local connection to win the election — he was born in Agra. He told PTI, “This is the land where I was born, which made me the Raj Babbar who earned name in Mumbai. This is the land that elected me to Lok Sabha also.”

Babbar said that his fight is with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and not just the BJP candidate from the seat. “My fight is not with Rajkumar Chahar but with Narendra Modi because this is a VIP seat for Modi. Chahar contested three assembly elections from Sikri and lost all three,” he told India Today.

(With PTI inputs)