25/02/2019 5:04 PM IST

Elections 2019: Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav Announce BSP-SP Alliance In Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand

The announcement comes days after they shared details of their seat-sharing in Uttar Pradesh.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav with Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati in Lucknow, on 15 January 2019. 

Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav announced the alliance between Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand for the Lok Sabha elections, reports said.

The two parties announced their seat-sharing arrangement for the states on Monday.

In Madhya Pradesh, SP will contest the three seats of Balaghat, Tikamgarh, and Khajurago while BSP contests the rest of the 29 seats.

In the five Lok Sabha seats of Uttarakhand,  SP will contest from Garhwal (Pauri) seat while BSP contests from the rest.

The announcement comes days after the parties had announced their seat-sharing pact in Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming elections.

The SP will contest 37 seats and the BSP 38 in UP.