23/05/2019 11:45 AM IST | Updated 24/05/2019 3:52 PM IST

Election Results 2019: Farooq Abdullah Wins From Srinagar

The former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister is comfortably ahead of rivals in the 2019 elections.

NEW DELHI—Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah won from the Srinagar constituency, receiving over 1 lakh votes.

His closest rival, Aga Mohsin of the Peoples Democratic Party, got 36,609 votes. 

The former CM had won from the Srinagar constituency in a by poll in 2017 when the election witnessed the lowest ever turnout of 7%. Abdullah himself had characterised his victory thus, “These were the worst elections in history due to bloodshed. No doubt I have won but we have lost precious lives that’s why we are not happy with this win.” 

The contest in 2019 was, in contrast, peaceful and without violent incidents. Polling percentage improved as compared to the 2017 election but it was still lower than the 2014 election.