23/05/2019 11:18 AM IST | Updated 24/05/2019 12:20 AM IST

Akhilesh Yadav Wins From Azamgarh By Over 2.5 Lakh Votes

Akhilesh contested the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections against Dinesh Lal Yadav.

Akhilesh Yadav, former Uttar Pradesh chief minister and Samajwadi Party leader, won from the Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency by over 2.59 lakh votes. Akhilesh contested the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections against Bhojpuri star Nirahua (Dinesh Lal Yadav).

In 2014, Akhilesh’s father Mulayam Singh Yadav had won from the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat with a margin of over 60,000 votes. However, in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had won this seat. 

Akhilesh has been at the forefront of his party’s alliance with once arch-rival Mayawati’s BSP. In the run up to the elections, Akhilesh was seen in several rallies with the the BSP supremo. 

After the exit polls, Akhilesh was seen holding meetings with several Opposition parties. 

In the run up to the Lok Sabha polls, Akhilesh had bitterly criticised the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi accusing him of selling “false dreams” to the people and then “betraying” them.

He had said the BJP and Modi had promised to transform Varanasi into Kyoto (city of Japan), but failed. Modi was unable to clean the river Ganga though he had displaced boatmen from their places where they earned their livelihood, Yadav alleged.

Akhilesh is contesting Lok Sabha polls after a five year stint as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh between 2012 and 2017. Before that he used has represented the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat. This year, his wife Dimple Yadav contested from Kannauj.