15/12/2018 9:08 AM IST | Updated 15/12/2018 9:09 AM IST

Congress To Announce Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Today

Bhupesh Baghel, and TS Singh Deo are believed to be frontrunners for the post.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo and Charan Das Mahant celebrate the Congress victory in Chhattisgarh.

RAIPUR — The Congress in Chhattisgarh will hold its legislature party meeting in Raipur on Saturday where the next Chief Minister of the state will be announced, a party leader said Friday.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Friday met four senior leaders of the state unit of the party ― Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Charan Das Mahant ― in Delhi and held discussions with them, a state Congress spokesperson told PTI.

Deo and Baghel are being seen as leading contenders for the top post.

All four leaders along with party observer Mallikarjun Karge and Congress state in-charge PL Punia will arrive here Saturday by a special plane, he said.

Subsequently, the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting will be held at the party’s state office Rajiv Bhawan during which the name of the chief minister will be announced, he added.

Congress ended the BJP’s 15-year rule in Chhattisgarh in the recently concluded Assembly elections by winning 68 of the 90 seats.