03/01/2020 5:53 PM IST

Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan Writes To 11 Chief Ministers Over CAA

In his letter, Pinarayi Vijayan asked chief ministers like Mamata Banerjee and Arvind Kejriwal to take measures to oppose Citizenship Amendment Act.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
Pinarayi Vijayan, Chief Minister of Kerala, in a file photo. 

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has written to 11 chief ministers across the country telling them that “apprehensions have arisen” among the people of the country in light of the passage of the Citizenship Amendment Act and that there was a great need to protect the Indian democracy. 

This comes days after the Kerala Assembly passed a resolution against the CAA. 

For the latest news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

The News Minute quoted Vijayan’s letter as saying, “Apprehensions have arisen among large sections of our society consequent to the Citizenship Amendment Act, 2019. The need of the hour is unity among all Indian who wish to protect and preserve our cherished values of democracy and secularism.”

The letter is addressed to chief minister like Mamata Banerjee and Arvind Kejriwal. 

“People from various cross sections of the society, irrespective of any differences they might have, need to stand united in preserving the basic tenets of our polity which form the cornerstone of Indian democracy,” the letter further said according to The News Minute.

Vijayan, in his letter, also drew attention to the resolution that the Kerala Assembly passed asking the Centre to repeal the CAA and said that this should be replicated in other states as well to serve as an “eye-opener” to the proponents of the CAA and the NRC. 

Chief ministers of several states, including West Bengal’s Mamata Banerjee, Punjab’s Captain Amarinder Singh, Maharashtra’s Uddhav Thackeray, have said they will not implement CAA in their states. 

Earlier this week, NCP chief Sharad Pawar extended his support to Banerjee.

In the letter Pawar said he pledged “to stand in solidarity with all like-minded leaders and parties to protest against the implementation of the CAA and nationwide NRC.”