29/07/2019 11:53 AM IST | Updated 29/07/2019 1:35 PM IST

BS Yediyurappa Wins Confidence Motion In Karnataka Assembly

Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar announced his resignation soon after the trust vote.

MANJUNATH KIRAN via Getty Images

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly on Monday through a voice vote.

Moving the confidence motion, Yediyurappa said he would not indulge in “politics of vengeance” and believed in the “forget and forgive principle.”

He said the administrative machinery had collapsed and his priority was to bring it back on track.

Congress and JD(S), according to PTI, did not press for division on the one-line motion moved by Yediyurappa. With no opposition, Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar declared that the motion had been passed by a voice vote.

Soon after the BJP government won the trust vote, Speaker Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation, according to NDTV

Kumar said as the Speaker, he had worked according to his “conscience” and in accordance with the Constitution.

“I have upheld the dignity of office to the best of my ability,” he added.

Yediyurappa was sworn-in as the chief minister on 26 July for the fourth time after the collapse of the HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JD(S) government.

(With PTI inputs)