15/12/2019 7:35 PM IST | Updated 15/12/2019 7:46 PM IST

Anti-Citizenship Amendment Act Protest: Entry, Exit Gates Of Metro Stations Closed

Entry and exit gates of four metro stations were closed. The stations are: Sukhdev Vihar, Jasola Vihar Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Millia Islamia and Okhla Vihar

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
File photo of a Delhi Metro train.

NEW DELHI—The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation closed the entry and exit gates of four metro stations in an around the Jamia Millia Islamia university on Sunday evening on account of the violent protest in southeast Delhi against the newly amended Citizenship Act.

“As advised by Delhi Police, entry & exit gates of Sukhdev Vihar and gate no. 3 of Ashram have been closed. Trains will not be halting at Sukhdev Vihar,” DMRC tweeted initially. But then quickly added three more stations to this list with a follow up tweet.