31/05/2019 1:03 PM IST | Updated 31/05/2019 1:55 PM IST

Amit Shah Is Home Minister, Rajnath Singh Gets Defence In New Modi Cabinet

Nirmala Sitharaman is the new 'minister of finance' and S Jaishankar is replacing Sushma Swaraj as the minister of external affairs.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images

Amit Shah, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s close aide and BJP president, has been given the charge of the home ministry while Rajnath Singh has been appointed as the minister of defence. 

This comes a day after Modi’s new cabinet took oath as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won a massive majority in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls

One of the most prominent exclusions from the cabinet is of Arun Jaitley. In a letter addressed to Modi, Jaitley had said he does not want to be a minister in the new BJP government due to health reasons. Sushma Swaraj is also not part of the new cabinet.  

Modi will be in-charge of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space, all important policy issues and other portfolios not allocated to any minister. 

Here are the portfolios of the ministers in the new cabinet:

Rajnath Singh: Minister of Defence

Amit Shah: Minister of Home Affairs

Nitin Gadkari: Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

S Jaishankar: Minister of External Affairs

Nirmala Sitharaman: Minister of Finance, Minister of Corporate Affairs

Ramesh Pokhriyal: Minister of Human Resource Development

Prakash Javadekar: Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Minister of Information and Broadcasting

Smriti Irani: Minister of Women and Child Development, Minister of Textiles

D. V. Sadananda Gowda: Minister of Chemical and Fertilizers

Ramvilas Paswan: Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Ravi Shankar Prasad: Minister of Law and Justice, Minister of Communications, and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology

Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Minister of Food Processing Industries

Piyush Goyal: Minister of Railways, Minister of Commerce and Industry

Harsh Vardhan: Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Earth Sciences

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minister of Minority Affairs

Dharmendra Pradhan: Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Minister of Steel

Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment

Arjun Munda: Minister of Tribal Affairs

Pralhad Joshi: Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of Coal, and Minister of Mines

Arvind Sawant: Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Narendra Singh Tomar: Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Minister of Rural Development, Minister of Panchayati Raj

Mahendra Nath Pandey: Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Giriraj Singh: Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Minister of Jal Shakti