24/07/2019 6:50 PM IST | Updated 24/07/2019 6:54 PM IST

Amit Shah To Head New Group of Ministers On Prevention Of Sexual Harassment At Workplace

The GoM in the last government, which had Rajnath Singh, Maneka Gandhi, Nitin Gadkari and Nirmala Sitharaman as its members, stands dissolved.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images

The government on Wednesday reconstituted the Group of Ministers looking after the issues of how to prevent sexual harassment at workplace and strengthen legal frameworks with Home Minister Amit Shah as its head, officials told PTI.

The other members of the reconstituted GoM are: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, HRD Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani.

Apart from Rajnath Singh, who is now the defence minister, the GoM in the last government, had Nitin Gadkari, Sitharaman and Maneka Gandhi as its members.

For the latest news and more, follow HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

The GoM was set up in October 2018 to examine and give recommendations for strengthening legal and institutional frameworks to deal with and prevent sexual harassment at workplace.

The Quint filed an RTI with the Ministry of Home Affairs to seek information on the number of times the last group of ministers met since it was set up and the minutes of the meetings held. It also asked for a copy of the recommendations which the group of ministers was supposed to make within three months. 

While the government said that it is under no obligation to share details, the MHA said the committee has been dissolved. The government added that the “required information is exempted from disclosure under Section 8(i) of the RTI Act 2005.”

(With PTI inputs)