11/12/2018 4:38 PM IST | Updated 11/12/2018 4:40 PM IST

Rajasthan Elections: Sachin Pilot Wins Tonk By Over 54,000 Votes

It was the first assembly elections for Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee Chief.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
A file photo of Sachin Pilot.

JAIPUR — Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee Chief Sachin Pilot has won the Tonk assembly constituency, defeating BJP's only Muslim candidate in the state and Transport Minister Yoonus Khan.

It was the first assembly elections for 41-year old Pilot, a two-time Member of Parliament, and he defeated Khan with a margin of 54,179 votes on the Muslim-dominated seat.

READ: Sachin Pilot Says Rajasthan Election Results A 'Gift' For Rahul Gandhi

So far, the Congress and the BJP have won six seats each, while the BSP has bagged three. Also, one independent and one other party candidate have won.