11/12/2018 8:48 AM IST | Updated 11/12/2018 8:48 AM IST

Election Results 2018: Counting Begins In Five States Amid Tight Security

Over 8,500 candidates were in fray in the five states — Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana.

ARINDAM DEY via Getty Images
Representative image.

NEW DELHI — Counting of votes for five state assemblies began on Tuesday amid tight security.

In the multi-phase polling, Chhattisgarh voted on 12 November (18 seats) and 20 November (72 seats); Madhya Pradesh (230 seats) and Mizoram (40 seats) on 28 November; and Rajasthan (199 seats) and Telangana (119 seats) on 7 December.

Over 8,500 candidates were in the fray in polls for these assemblies.

A total of 678 assembly seats across five states went for polls, after polling was countermanded in one seat in Rajasthan due to death of a candidate.

Tight security arrangements have been made for the counting, especially in Chhattisgarh where at least 12 assembly seats are in Naxal-affected areas. Besides, there have been allegations related to the electronic voting machines.

READ: Madhya Pradesh Election Counting Results LIVE: Who's Winning?

Hectic political parleys marked the eve of counting of votes for five state assemblies, billed as semi-finals before the 2019 national polls, with the Congress asserting that the mandate from Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram on Tuesday would send a "clear message" against the Narendra Modi government at the Centre.

Rejecting the exit-poll results, most of which have forecast gains for Congress in at least four states including a clear majority in Rajasthan, the BJP leaders said the final results should be awaited even as they sought to de-link the state polls from the next year's Lok Sabha elections.

In Telangana, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi met interim chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao to extend his support and said he was sure about the ruling TRS coming back to power, while the BJP also hinted at its possible support.

The Congress-led alliance, however, appeared upbeat that it would get the mandate to dislodge KCR, as the chief minister is popularly known as, and form the next government. It also told Governor ESL Narasimhan that it should be treated as a single entity in the event of no party getting a clear majority.

READ: Rajasthan Polls: Star Candidates, Turncoats To Watch For On Counting Day

For Madhya Pradesh, senior Congress leader Kamal Nath exuded confidence that his party would get at least 140 seats to form a majority government.

For Telangana, exit polls have been divided between the TRS and the Congress-led opposition alliance. Same is the case for Mizoram where the ruling Congress is being challenged by its arch-rival in the state, Mizo National Front, while the BJP is also separately in fray.

Ahead of the results, Congress president Rahul Gandhi said people will give a "clear message" in form of results for the five assemblies and exuded confidence that the BJP would be ousted in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

These assembly elections are being seen as crucial for the BJP ahead of the Lok Sabha elections as it is in power in three of these states — Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The Congress is in power in Mizoram, while the TRS ruled Telangana before the assembly was dissolved.

The BJP is trying for a fourth term in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh and is seeking to retain power in Rajasthan. The three states also played a significant role for the BJP in the 2014 general elections, when it had won 62 out of the 65 Lok Sabha seats in these three states.

READ: Chhattisgarh Polls: A Look At Star Candidates, Turncoats And Key Constituencies Ahead Of Counting Day

The elections are also significant for Congress, which is out to challenge the BJP's rule in three states and protect its last bastion in the North East, where Mizoram remains the only state not under the rule of BJP-led NDA. The eight North East states together have 25 Lok Sabha seats.

In the 2013 elections in Mizoram, the Congress had won 34 seats, while MNF got five and the Mizoram People's Conference bagged one seat. Since 1987, Mizoram has been ruled by either Congress or the MNF, while the BJP is yet to win an assembly seat there.

In Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, the BJP has been in power for three consecutive terms, while Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje-led BJP government Rajasthan is seeking to defy a recent trend of the saffron party and the Congress being in power alternately.

KCR-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had formed the first government of the country's youngest state in 2014 after it was carved out of Andhra Pradesh.

READ: Madhya Pradesh Polls: Star Candidates And Bellwether Constituencies To Watch Out For

In the maiden polls for the 119-seat Telangana assembly, 1,821 candidates were in fray and a voter turnout of 73.20 percent was recorded.

Chhattisgarh recorded 76.60 percent voter turnout, while the same for Madhya Pradesh was 75.05 percent. Rajasthan recorded over 74 percent voting, while it was nearly 80 percent in Mizoram.