11/12/2018 9:50 AM IST | Updated 31/01/2019 4:07 PM IST

PMO Accepts Economist Surjit Bhalla's Resignation From PM's Economic Advisory Council

Bhalla said on Twitter he stepped down on December 1.

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
A file photo of Surjit Bhalla.

NEW DELHI—Eminent economist and columnist Surjit Bhalla resigned as part-time member of Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister(EAC-PM) on December 1. NDTVreported that the PMO has accepted his resignation.

Bhalla announced the news on Twitter.

The EAC- PM is headed by Niti Aayog member Bibek Debroy. Economists Rathin Roy, Ashima Goyal and Shamika Ravi are the other part-time members.

The news comes a day after RBI governor Urjit Patel announced his resignation, taking both the government and markets by surprise.

The EAC website describes it as an "independent body constituted to give advice on economic and related issues to the Government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister".

(With PTI inputs)