12/11/2018 6:09 PM IST | Updated 12/11/2018 6:09 PM IST

Telangana Assembly Election Battle Begins, KCR To File Nomination From Gajwel

The 119-member Assembly was dissolved on 6 September on the recommendation of the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led government

PRAKASH SINGH via Getty Images
Representative image.

HYDERABAD — The Election Commission on Monday issued notification for the 7 December election to the Telangana Legislative Assembly.

According to the notification, nominations would be accepted from 12 to 19 November while the date for scrutiny of papers has been fixed on 20 November.

The last date for withdrawing nominations is 22 November.

Polls are scheduled to be held on 7 December and counting would be held on 11 December.

According to an earlier communication from the Chief Electoral officers office, the total number of voters in Telangana have gone down by nearly nine lakh to 2.73 crore for the Assembly polls.

There would be more than 32,574 polling stations in the state and few more may be set up depending on the number of voters.

The 119-member Assembly was dissolved on 6 September on the recommendation of the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led government, more than eight months ahead of the expiry of its term.

The Election Commission on Friday imposed a near month-long ban on holding exit polls beginning 12 November in the five poll-bound states including Telangana.

ALSO READ: How BJP's Raman Singh Went From Ayurvedic Doctor To Three-Time Chief Minister Of Chhattisgarh

Caretaker Chief Minister and TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao handed over B-Forms to party's contesting candidates Sunday after a brainstorming session with them.

He is expected to file his nomination from Gajwel constituency in Medak district on 14 November.

"Honourable KCR garu giving away the B-form to the MLAs of my Parliament constituency. We seek the blessings of T-people for the success of all our MLAs," TRS MP and CM's daughter Kavitha tweeted.

The TRS has already announced its candidates for 107 segments, including 105 at one go within minutes of the Assembly dissolution, giving it a jump-start to the campaign and stunning the opposition.

The main opposition Congress forged an electoral pact with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) headed by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) founded by retired Osmania University Political Science Professor Kodandaram and the Communist Party of India.

However the "Grand Alliance" is yet to announce the list of the contesting candidates.

BJP had so far announced 66 nominees in two tranches.