10/11/2018 3:59 PM IST | Updated 10/11/2018 3:59 PM IST

Election Commission bans exit polls from Nov 12 to Dec 7

Between 7 am of November 12 and 5.30 pm of December 7, conducting any exit poll and publicising its result by any means is prohibited, said the commission

Reuters Photographer / Reuters
File photo of Voters waiting in queues to cast their ballot outside a polling station during the recently concluded Karnataka assembly elections.

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Friday imposed a near month-long ban on holding exit polls beginning November 12 in the five poll-bound states.

A notification issued by the poll panel said between 7 am of November 12 and 5.30 pm of December 7, "conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicising the result of exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or in any other manner shall be prohibited" .

While Chhattisgarh is going to polls in two phases on November 12 and 20, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram have elections on November 28.

Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls on December 7.

Using powers under the Representation of People Act, 1951, EC bans exit polls from the time the poll begins till half-an-hour after the polling ends.

The poll panel had proposed that there should be a prohibition on publication and broadcast of the results of opinion polls starting from the date of notification of elections till the completion of the last phase of polls to Lok Sabha and state Assemblies.

The proposal is pending with the government.