28/08/2017 1:42 PM IST | Updated 28/08/2017 1:59 PM IST

AAP's Ram Chander Wins Bawana By-Polls, Defeats BJP's Ved Prakash By Over 24,000 Votes

Voting was conducted on 23 August at 379 polling booths.

Anindito Mukherjee / Reuters

NEW DELHI -- The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday won the Bawana Assembly by-poll by a margin of over 24,000 votes, defeating former party legislator Ved Prakash who defected to the BJP.

After the final round of counting, AAP candidate Ram Chandra got 59,886 votes against 35,834 votes of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Ved Prakash. Congress candidate Surender Kumar got 31,919 votes, an election commission official announced.

The by-poll was necessitated after Ved Prakash quit the AAP and resigned from the assembly seat to join the BJP.

​​​​​​​Also on HuffPost India:

Photo gallery 10 Cooking Tips For Indian Bachelors By Saransh Goila See Gallery