19/04/2017 12:29 PM IST | Updated 30/05/2017 3:23 PM IST

Babri Masjid Demolition Case: A Chronology

A special CBI court granted bail to all the 12 accused.

AFP/Getty Images

Editor's Note: This copy was first published on April 19, 2017. It is being republished in light of the special CBI court framing charges against the accused today.

Following is the chronology of events in the 1992 Babri Masjid demolition case in which a special CBI court today granted bail to all 12 accused including senior BJP leaders, L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and Uma Bharti. Earlier, the Supreme Court has allowed CBI's appeal and restored criminal conspiracy charge against them:

Dec, 1992: Two FIRs filed in the case. One against unknown karsevaks for demolition of the mosque. The other named BJP leaders Advani, M M Joshi and others for allegedly giving 'communal' speeches before demolition.

Oct, 1993: CBI files composite charge sheet accusing Advani and others of conspiracy.

May 4, 2001: Special CBI court drops proceedings against accused including Advani, Joshi, Uma Bharti, Bal Thackeray and others.

Nov 2, 2004: CBI challenges before the Lucknow bench of Allahabad High Court, the dropping of proceedings against BJP leaders on technical grounds. Court issues notices.

May 20, 2010: High court dismisses plea. Says no merit in CBI's revision petition.

Feb, 2011: CBI moves Supreme Court against high court order.

Mar 6, 2017: SC indicates it may consider reviving conspiracy charge against the BJP leaders in Babri Masjid demolition case.

Mar 21, 2017: SC suggests fresh attempts to resolve Ayodhya dispute.

Apr 6, 2017: SC favours time-bound completion of trial in the case and reserves order on CBI's plea.

Apr 19, 2017: SC restores criminal conspiracy charge against leaders including Advani, Joshi and union cabinet minister Uma Bharti in the case and clubs the trial in the matter pending against VIPs and karsevaks.

May 30, 2017: A special CBI court grants bail to all 12 accused in the Babri Masjid demolition case, including BJP leaders L.K. Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and Umar Bharti. It also rejects a discharge application and rules that criminal charges be filed against the senior BJP leaders.

With inputs from PTI

Also on HuffPost India

Photo gallery Tamil Nadu Farmers Protest In Delhi See Gallery