13/04/2017 8:42 AM IST | Updated 13/04/2017 8:43 AM IST

38 Polling Stations In Kashmir's Budgam, Disrupted By Violence On 9 April, Begin Re-Polling 

Voter turnout remains low. 

Mukesh Gupta / Reuters

SRINAGAR -- Re-polling at 38 polling stations in Budgam district in Srinagar parliamentary constituency began on Thursday, election officials said.

Re-poll was ordered in 38 polling stations of Chadoora, Chrar-e-Sharief, Khansahib and Beerwah tehsils of Budgam district where violence had disrupted the process on 9 April.

Voting process started at 7 a.m. and will end at 4 p.m.

However, voters did not turnout in big numbers to cast their ballots.

Sunday's polling at these polling stations was disrupted by massive violence in which eight civilians were killed in clashes with the security forces.

Alarmed by the unprecedented violence, the Election Commission decided to defer the south Kashmir Anantnag Parliamentary seat by-poll to 25 May.

Voting in Anantnag constituency was otherwise scheduled for 12 April.

Former chief minister and opposition National Conference President, Farooq Abdullah has challenged ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP ) candidate, Nazir Ahmad Khan in the Srinagar-Budgam constituency.

Counting of votes will be held on 15 April and the result would be known the same day.

Also on HuffPost India

Photo gallery Kashmir Winter Wonderland See Gallery