23/03/2017 12:21 PM IST | Updated 23/03/2017 12:36 PM IST

New Election Symbols For Rival AIADMK Factions: 'Electricity Pole' For OPS, 'Auto' For Sasikala

The Election Commission froze AIADMK's 'two leaves' symbol on 22 March. 

AFP/Getty Images

The Election Commission has issued new symbols to O Panneerselvam and Sasikala factions of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) after it froze the party's 'two leaves' election symbol.

While Pannerselvam's AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma faction has been assigned the 'electricity pole' symbol, Sasikala's AIADMK Amma was allotted the 'auto' symbol, DNA has reported.

The two rival camps have been squabbling over the AIADMK election symbol as both cannot use the same symbol while contesting for the prestigious R K Nagar Assembly bypoll that will be held on 12 April. The Assembly constituency has been without an MLA since the demise of Jayalalithaa last December.

"Neither of the two groups shall be permitted to use the name of the party 'All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam' simplicitor; neither of the aforesaid two groups shall also be permitted to use the symbol 'Two Leaves', reserved for 'All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam'," said an Election Commission order issued on 22 March, a day before the last date for filing nominations for the bypoll.

The Panneerselvam camp has announced E Madhusudhanan as its candidate for the bypoll, while Sasikala's nephew and AIADMK Deputy General Secretary, T T V Dinakaran, is her camp's nominee.

Also on HuffPost India

Photo galleryBurger Recipes See Gallery