20/03/2017 10:02 AM IST | Updated 20/03/2017 11:14 AM IST

Manipur CM, N. Biren Singh, To Face Floor Test In Assembly Today

He is the first BJP CM of the state.


IMPHAL -- Manipur Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh will face floor test in the 60-member Manipur Assembly on Monday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leaving no stone unturned to form the government in the state and has lodged all its legislators in a Guwahati hotel along with an Independent and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since 16 March.

N. Biren Singh was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur on 16 March.

Only two BJP MLAs including the Chief Minister were inducted in the BJP-led ministry, while four MLAs of NPP, one each of NPF, LJP and the Congress legislator who joined the saffron party were included in the ministry.

The BJP won 21 seats and formed the state government with support of four each MLAs of NPP and NPF, one MLA of LJP and one each lawmaker of Congress and Trinamool Congress who joined the saffron party.

Also on HuffPost India

Photo gallery Burger Recipes See Gallery