18/03/2017 3:17 PM IST | Updated 18/03/2017 4:23 PM IST

Trivendra Singh Rawat Sworn In As Uttarakhand CM

Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh were among those present for the oath taking ceremony.

ANI/ Twitter

DEHRADUN -- Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Trivendra Singh Rawat on Saturday took oath as the ninth Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Rawat was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Krishna Kant Paul.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Jagat Prakash Nadda and Uma Bharti are among the several dignitaries who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Prakash Pant, Madan Kaushik, Yashpal Arya, Subodh Uniyal and Rekha Arya are the other BJP MLAs who took oath as ministers with Rawat.

Ahead of his swearing-in ceremony, Rawat paid tributes at Shaheed Smarak in Dehradun.

The former Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) pracharak, who succeeded Congress leader Harish Rawat, assured that he would provide a corruption-free government to Uttarakhand and would work for the upliftment of the poor.

A BJP loyalist, Rawat guided the saffron party to electoral victory in Jharkhand assembly elections in 2014.

In the recently-concluded assembly polls, the BJP won with a clear majority with 57 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, thereby ousting the Congress that managed to win just 11 seats this time.

Also on HuffPost India:

Photo gallery Burger Recipes See Gallery