16/02/2017 4:30 PM IST | Updated 16/02/2017 7:30 PM IST

Edapaddi Palanisamy Sworn In As Chief Minister Of Tamil Nadu

The floor test is in 15 days.


Edapaddi Palanisamy has been sworn in as the new chief minister of Tamil Nadu after a tussle for power that lasted for over a week. Along with him will be sworn in a 31 member cabinet.

Palanisamy was chosen by Sasikala, whose own chief ministerial ambitions were cut short by a Supreme Court verdict in the disproportionate assets case sending her to four years in prison and stopping her from holding a legislative post for the next 10 years.

He was called by Tamil Nadu Governor Vidyasagar Rao this morning to form the government. While acting chief minister O Panneerselvam had also wanted to stake claim to form government, with a clear majority of AIADMK MLAs behind him, Palanisamy was chosen.

However, he will have to prove his majority on the floor of the Tamil Nadu Assembly after 15 days.

A close aide of Palanisamy told the PTI that he was a unwavering loyalist of J Jayalalithaa.

Palanisamy steadily rose through the ranks of AIADMK during his 40-year political career. Since 2011 he has been the Minister for Highways and Minor Ports.

He began his career in AIADMK in 1974. When a similar situation happened after the death of MGR in 1987, Palanisamy had sworn his allegiance to Jayalalithaa.

(With PTI inputs)

Also In HuffPost India

Photo gallery ISRO Launch See Gallery