04/12/2016 4:04 PM IST | Updated 04/12/2016 4:15 PM IST

India Beat Pakistan To Lift Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup Title

Pakistan were set a target of 122 by India but could only manage 104 for the loss of six wickets.


BANGKOK -- Mithali Raj struck an unbeaten half-century before Indian bowlers come out with a stupendous performance to defeat Pakistan by 17 runs and win the Women's T20 Asia Cup 2016.

In the final played at the Asian Institute of Technology Ground, Bangkok, the Indian eves successfully defended the title which they won in 2012 in Guangzhou while they secured their fourth win over Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

Pakistan were set a target of 122 by India but could only manage 104 for the loss of six wickets in their stipulated quota of 20 overs. Pakistan started off well during their chase and at 75 for 3 in the fourteenth over, they threatened to take the game away.

Pakistan were even the favourites but Anuja Patil had Pakistan's captain Bismah Maroof caught and bowled then and Preeti Bose and Ekta Bisht followed with wickets to take the wind out of the chase. Jhulan Goswami was the pick of the bowlers taking one wicket for 19 runs. She provided the first breakthrough and then capped off a win by bowling the stingy penultimate over.

Earlier, opting to bat first, the Harmanpreet Kaur-led side rode on Mithali's unbeaten 73 to post 121-5 in 20 overs. Mithali notched up her ninth T20 half century during the course of her innings.

Mithali was adjudged the player of the match as well as the player of the series for her supreme show throughout the tournament.

The Indian eves had reached the final of the six-team tournament, with 10 points, after winning all of their five round-robin matches.

Pakistan, with eight points, were second having won four of their five games. In the round-robin stage, India had defeated Pakistan by five wickets.

Also on HuffPost India.

Photo gallery Indore-Patna Express Derails; Rescue Operations On See Gallery
US Election
The latest polls, breaking news and analysis on the 2020 US presidential election from HuffPost