25/06/2016 3:14 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:27 AM IST

Mehbooba Mufti Wins Anantnag Bypoll By Over 12,000 Votes

Fayaz Kabli / Reuters
Mehbooba Mufti, president of People's Democratic Party (PDP), Kashmir's main opposition party, speaks after police stopped her protest march in Srinagar October 5, 2011. Indian police in Srinagar on Wednesday stopped a protest march of PDP led by its president Mufti to demand the resignation of Kashmir's chief minister Omar Abdullah over allegations of mass corruption by his government, Mufti said while addressing her supporters. REUTERS/Fayaz Kabli (INDIAN-ADMINISTERED KASHMIR - Tags: CIVIL UNREST POLITICS)

SRINAGAR -- Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti has won the Anantnag bypoll by defeating her nearest Congress rival Hilal Shah by over 12,000 votes.

Earlier in the day, the counting of votes was disrupted for a brief while after the Congress workers created ruckus outside the counting hall, saying they found the EVMs unsealed.

Eight candidates, including Mehbooba Mufti of the PDP, Hilal Ahmad Shah of the Congress and Iftikhar Hussain Misgar of the National Conference were in the fray.

The by-election in Anantnag took place following the death of the then chief minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, who represented the constituency in the 87-member legislative house.

Sayeed passed away in New Delhi on 7 January after a brief illness.

Mehbooba assumed office after being sworn in as the Chief Minister of the PDP-BJP coalition government on 4 April.

Mehbooba, who is not member of any of the House, is presently an MP from south Kashmir Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency in Parliament.

Contact HuffPost India

Also see on HuffPost:

Photo gallery Salman Khan's Nephew Ahil Is Already Camera-Ready See Gallery