12/06/2016 1:09 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:27 AM IST

Rajya Sabha Polls: Complete List Of Winners

Adnan1 Abidi / Reuters
India's Telecoms Minister Kapil Sibal gestures during a news conference in New Delhi April 11, 2011. Merger and acquisition guidelines in India's crowded telecoms sector need to be liberal, Sibal said on Monday. India is overhauling its decade-old telecoms policy in a bid to make the world's second-largest market for mobile phone services more transparent after the sector was hit by a multi-billion-dollar telecoms licensing scandal. REUTERS/Adnan Abidi (INDIA - Tags: BUSINESS POLITICS)

Voting for 27 Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Rajasthan and Haryana showcased a number of interesting results — from BJP's significant gain by winning 12 seats, to SP and BSP winning the most number of seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Out of 57 Rajya Sabha seats, voting took place for only 27 seats as 30 candidates were elected unopposed after the withdrawal of nominations by their opponents earlier this month.

Here is the complete list of winners:

  • Rajasthan:
    Hindustan Times via Getty Images
    Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu and OP Mathur from BJP won in Rajasthan.
  • Uttar Pradesh:
    Uttar Pradesh:
    Vijay Mathur / Reuters
    Samajwadi Party's Amar Singh, Beni Prasad Verma, Sanjay Seth, Reoti Raman Singh, Sukhram Yadav, Surender Nagar and Vishambhar Prasad Nishad were the major winners in UP. BJP's Shiv Pratap Shukla, Congress' Kapil Sibal, and Bahujan Samajwadi Party's Satish Mishra and Ashok Siddhartha were the other winners.
  • Haryana:
    Reuters Photographer / Reuters
    Independent candidate and chairman of Zee group Subhash Chandra (who was supported by BJP) and BJP's own Birendra Singh won from Haryana.
  • Madhya Pradesh:
    Madhya Pradesh:
    Mail Today via Getty Images
    BJP's MJ Akbar and Anil Madhav Dave won from Madhya Pradesh. The third seat was bagged by independent candidate Vivek Tankha who was supported by Congress.
  • Karnataka:
    Hindustan Times via Getty Images
    Congress' Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and KC Ramamurthy, along with BJP's Nirmala Sitharaman won the seats.
  • Jharkhand:
    Hindustan Times via Getty Images
    Both the seats in Jharkhan were won by BJP candidates Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar.
  • Uttarakhand:
    From Uttarakhand, Congress leader Pradeep Tamta was elected to the Rajya Sabha.