23/05/2016 5:04 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:26 AM IST

Jayalalithaa Sworn-In As Tamil Nadu CM For Sixth Time

ARUN SANKAR via Getty Images
Jayalalithaa Jayaram, leader of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), takes part in a swearing-in ceremony as chief minister of Tamil Nadu state in Chennai on May 23, 2016. / AFP / ARUN SANKAR (Photo credit should read ARUN SANKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

CHENNAI -- All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) chief J. Jayalalithaa was on Monday sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the second consecutive term.

Tamil Nadu Governor K. Rosaiah administered the oath of office to Jayalalithaa and 28 members of her Cabinet.

This is for the first time since the death of former chief minister M.G. Ramachandran, popularly known as MGR, that a party returned to power for the second consecutive term in Tamil Nadu.

DMK treasurer M.K. Stalin and many other newly-elected MLAs attended the ceremony held at the Madras University's Centenary Auditorium.

Scores of AIADMK workers, supporters and well-wishers gathered at the centenary auditorium to get a glimpse of their favourite leader popularly known as Amma.

Jayalalithaa had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the oath-taking function after her win. Reports earlier said that Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu will represent the Centre at the swearing-in ceremony of AIADMK supremo, but he was not present at the event.

Prime Minister Modi, who is presently on an official visit to Iran, congratulated Jayalalithaa on her new innings as the Chief Minister.

"Congratulations to Jayalalithaa ji & her team on taking oath. Centre will work closely with new Govt. for progress of TN. @AIADMKOfficial," he tweeted.

Earlier on 21 May, 68-year-old Jayalalithaa met Governor K. Rosaiah and staked claim to form the government in the state.

The AIADMK retained power winning 136 of the 232 constituencies despite most exit polls predicting a DMK win.

This will be Jayalalithaa's fourth term in office. Her earlier tenures as the Chief Minister were 1991-96, 2001-06 and 2011-16.

Like Us On Facebook |
Follow Us On Twitter |
Contact HuffPost India

Also see on HuffPost:

12 Summer Cocktails With An Indian Twist From Mixologists Across India

More On This Topic