19/05/2016 11:30 AM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:26 AM IST

Assembly Election 2016 Results Live: CPI(M) Confident About Kerala, Hopes For Better Results In West Bengal

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
NEW DELHI, INDIA - MARCH 24: CPI (M) Politburo member Brinda Karat at the launch of party publications to campaign against BJP's Narendra Modi on March 24, 2014 in New Delhi, India. The incumbent Congress led UPA government is challenged by NDA coalition led by Hindu nationalist BJP leader Narendra Modi to power on a platform of economic revival. (Photo by Arun Sharma/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

NEW DELHI -- After early trends forecast a win for (Left Democratic Alliance) LDF in Kerala, Communist Party of India (Marxists) (CPI(M) leader Brinda Karat on Thursday lauded the people of the state for choosing the alliance.

Karat told ANI, "I would like to laud Kerala for choosing us, I am sure we will win in Kerala."

Further commenting on her party's status in West Bengal where it is being trailed by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress (TMC) Brinda said, "The results are yet to come, we hope for the best."

Meanwhile, Prakash Karat spoke in the same tune and said that he is confident that CPI(M) will win in Kerala and that in West Bengal he added that the party is expecting for the condition to improve.

TMC established its supreme dominance in West Bengal, as according to latest Election Commission data TMC stands at 83, Congress-12, Left-13, BJP-2, RSP-1, GJM-2, Independent-1.

TMC's candidate from Siliguri, Bhaichung Bhutia, was trailing CPI (M) candidate Ashok Bhattacharya by 1373 votes.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee led in Bhabanipur constituency as BJP's Chandra Bose fell in third position.

Keep a track of the updates here: Counting Underway In Kerala, West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu And Puducherry