28/03/2016 1:38 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:26 AM IST

63rd National Film Awards: 'Baahubali', 'Bajirao Mastani', 'Piku', And 'Visaaranai' Are Biggest Winners

HuffPost Staff

The 63rd National Film Awards were announced in a press conference held on Monday morning, with the top award going to SS Rajamouli's magnum opus Baahubali: The Beginning. The names of the award winners were announced live via a YouTube stream, aside from being live-tweeted by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting's official Twitter account.

The top award choices bore several resemblances to those made by several commercial film award shows in recent months, with Hindi blockbusters such as Bajirao Mastani, Piku, and Tanu Weds Manu Returns picking up a number of honours. Actress Kangana Ranaut has been given her third National Award. Vetri Maaran's riveting prison drama Visaaranai picked up awards for Tamil film, supporting actor, and editing as well.

One of the new awards announced this year was one for 'Best Film-Friendly State', given to the state that allows ease of business and provides facilities for filmmakers most easily. The award went to Gujarat; this, despite the problems faced by the makers of the upcoming Shah Rukh Khan starrer Raees in the state (as this Twitter user pointed out).

Below is a partial list of winners. For the full list, head here.

Feature film awards

Best Feature Film: Baahubali: The Beginning

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Neeraj Ghaywan for Masaan

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Nargis Dutt Award on Best Feature Film on National Integration: Nanak Shah Fakir (Punjabi)

Best Film On Social Issues: Nirnayakam (Malayalam)

Best Film On Environment Conservation/Protection: Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal (Malayalam/English/French)

Best Children's Film: Duronto

Best Child Artiste: Gaurav Menon for Ben

Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani

Special Jury Award: Kalki Koechlin for Margarita, With A Straw

Best Choreography: Remo S'Souza ('Deewani Mastani' in Bajirao Mastani)

Best Background Score: Ilaiyaaraja (Thaarai Thappattai)

Best Music direction: M Jayachandran ('Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu' in Ennu Ninte Moideen)

Best Lyrics: Varun Grover ('Moh Moh Ke Dhaage' from Dum Laga Ke Haisha)

Best Costume Designer and Make-up Artist: Nanak Shah Fakir

Best Editing: Late Kishore TE (Visaaranai)

Best Dialogues: Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Screenplay (Adapted): Vishal Bhardwaj for Talvar

Best Cinematography: Sudeep Chatterjee (Bajirao Mastani)

Best Special Effects: Baahubali: The Beginning

Best Male Playback Singer: Mahesh Kale for Katyar Kaljat Ghusli

Best Female Playback Singer: Monali Thakur ('Moh Moh Ke Dhage' from Dum Laga Ke Haisha)

Best Supporting Actress: Tanvi Azmi (Bajirao Mastani)

Best Supporting Actor: Samuthirakani (Visaaranai)

Best Hindi film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Assamese film: Kothanodi

Best Bengali film: Shankhachil

Best Bodo film: Dau Huduni Methai

Best Khasi film: Onaatah

Best Haryanvi film: Satrangi

Best Wancho film: The Head Hunter

Best Mizo film: Kima's lode Beyond The Class

Best Maithili film: Mithila Makhaan

Best Sanskrit film: Priyamanasam

Best Telugu film: Kanche

Best Tamil film: Visaaranai

Best Punjabi film: Chauthi Koot

Best Odiya film: Pahada Ra Luha

Best Marathi film: Ringan

Best Malyalam film: Pathemari

Best Konkani film: Enemy

Best Short Fiction Film: Aushadh

Best Animation Award: Fisherwoman and Tuktuk

Special mentions: Jaysurya for Su... Su... Sudhi Valmeekam and Lukka Chhupi (Malayalam); Ritika Singh for Irudhi Suttru (Tamil; released in Hindi as Saala Khadoos); Rinku Rajguru for Sairat (Marathi)

Non-feature film awards

Best Non Feature Film: Amdavad Ma Famous

Best Art Cultural Film: A Far Afternoon - A Painted Saga

Best Biographical: Life in a Metaphor: A Portrait Of Girish Kasaravalli

Best Social Film Award: Autodriver

Best Music: Aravind-Shankar for A Far Afternoon

Best Film Friendly State Award: Gujarat (special mention to UP and Kerala)

Best Film Critic: Meghachandra Kongbam (Manipuri)

Contact HuffPost India

Also see on HuffPost:

US Election
The latest polls, breaking news and analysis on the 2020 US presidential election from HuffPost