27/12/2015 9:39 AM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

Voting Begins For Legislative Council Seats In Telangana

NOAH SEELAM via Getty Images
An Indian polling officer marks the finger of a voter with ink at a polling station at Rangareddy on the outskirts of Hyderabad on April 30, 2014. India's 814-million-strong electorate is voting in the world's biggest election which is set to sweep the Hindu nationalist opposition to power at a time of low growth, anger about corruption and warnings about religious unrest. AFP PHOTO / Noah SEELAM (Photo credit should read NOAH SEELAM/AFP/Getty Images)

HYDERABAD -- Polling has begun for six seats of local bodies constituencies in state Legislative Council today in Telangana. The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for smooth conduct of Member of Legislative Council elections.

The polling will conclude at 4 pm. The counting of votes will be taken up on 30 December.

Elections are being held for six MLC seats in Ranga Reddy, Mahaboob Nagar, Nalgonda and Khammam districts of Telangana today. Of the 12 MLC seats for which notification was released on 2 December, elections in six seats have become unanimous with the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidates getting elected unopposed in Karimnagar, Warangal, Nizamabad, Medak and Adilabad districts.

State Chief Electoral Officer K Bhanwarlal said a total of 3,869 voters are set to exercise their franchise in these elections and 19 candidates are in the fray. He said strict vigil is kept at the 19 polling booths set up in four districts in view of allegations that some parties are trying to influence the voters.

Like Us On Facebook |
Follow Us On Twitter |
Contact HuffPost India

Also see on HuffPost:

Bihar Elections 2015

More On This Topic