14/10/2015 1:12 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

PHOTOS: All The Dissenting Sahitya Akademi Awardees And Their Prize-Winning Works


After authors Uday Prakash and Nayantara Sahgal set the precedent, younger writers such as Aman Sethi and Mandakranta Sen too have returned their Sahitya Akademi awards.

On Monday, Booker Prize winner Salman Rushdie tweeted his support to the writers even as the number of such dissenting writers have increased to 25.

Here's the complete list of authors who have eschewed this literary honour.

Photo gallery 25 Authors Who Returned Their Sahitya Akademi Awards See Gallery

Also Read: Prime Minister Narendra Modi Breaks Silence On Dadri, Says Fight Poverty, Not Muslims

Contact HuffPost India