11/10/2015 4:30 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

KP Sharma Oli Elected As New Prime Minister Of Nepal

AFP via Getty Images
Communist Party of Nepal (UML) candidite K.P. Sharma Oli delivers his speech during an election campaign rally at Kakarvita in the Jhapa district of Eastern Nepal on April 7,2008. Nepal goes to the polls on April 10, 2008 in a crucial election that will elect a body that will likely abolish the world's last Hindu monarchy. Thousands of Nepalese are returning to their home villages from Kathmandu to vote in the polls, the first major election in Nepal for nearly a decade. AFP PHOTO/Diptendu DUTTA (Photo credit should read DIPTENDU DUTTA/AFP/Getty Images)

NEW DELHI -- Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) CPN-UML Chairman K.P. Sharma Oli has been elected as the new Prime Minister of Nepal.

Oli secured 338 votes in a parliamentary ballot on Sunday, defeating Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala, who got 249.

According to The Himalayan Times, Speaker Subas Chandra Nembang asked lawmakers supporting Oli to sign on the list placed on the left side of the dais, and those supporting Koirala to sign on the list on the right side.

"I announce that respected member KP Sharma Oli has been elected to the post of Nepal's prime minister," said Nembang, AFP reported.

Contact HuffPost India