12/09/2015 3:55 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

BJP's Student Wing Sweeps Delhi University Elections

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
NEW DELHI, INDIA - SEPTEMBER 11: Students queue up to cast their vote for the Delhi Univesity Students Union (DUSU) Elections 2015, at Miranda House, North Campus, on September 11, 2015 in New Delhi, India. A total of 35 candidates are in the fray for the four posts of DUSU office-bearers. While nine candidates are in the race for the post of president, eight nominations have been validated for the post of vice-president. The number of students contesting for the secretary and joint secretary post is 10 and eight respectively. Students say they want a rollback of the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) and proper hostel facilities. (Photo by Sushil Kumar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

NEW DELHI -- BJP's student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad today swept Delhi University Students' Union polls, retaining all four top posts for the second consecutive year defeating Congress-backed NSUI while AAP's CYSS finished third in the vote count in its debut.

The ABVP bagged the posts of president, vice-president, secretary and joint secretary defeating National Students' Union of India (NSUI) candidates with a margin of over 4,500 votes each in the fiercely fought contest.

Candidates from Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), the students wing of ruling AAP in the capital, which made its debut at the campus polls this year, could not open its account and were at the third position as per the overall vote count.

The ABVP had bagged all four top posts of DUSU last year also.

ABVP's Satender Awana and Sunny Dedha were elected president and vice president of DUSU respectively. Anjali Rana won the post of Secretary and Chhattarpal Yadav was elected joint secretary.

Awana polled 20,439 votes defeating Pradeep Vijayran of NSUI who polled 14,112 votes. Dedha, a law student, defeated CYSS candidate Garima Rana by a margin of 7,570 votes.

While Rana defeated NSUI's Amit Sehrawat to win the post of Secretary, Yadav bagged the Joint Secretary's position defeating NSUI's Deepak Choudhary.

The CYSS candidates were at the third position for the post of president, secretary and joint secretary while its nominee was in the second for the Vice President's post.

Union Minister and senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley, who was DUSU president in 1974, congratulated ABVP on its victory in the prestigious polls.

"Congratulations to ABVP & Students of Delhi University on winning the DUSU elections & making a clean sweep by winning all the four seats," he tweeted.

BJP national President Amit Shah also congratulated the ABVP candidates. "Heartiest Congratulations to all Parishad karyakartas on clean sweep in DUSU Polls. A victory of ideology #ABVPRocks," he tweeted.

The election held yesterday saw a turnout of over 43 per cent. A total of 1,35,298 students were eligible to exercise their franchise.

The issues that topped the high-voltage campaign included Choice Based Credit System (CBCS), Room Rent Control Act, accommodation for all, opening of new colleges and infrastructure development.

Contact HuffPost India