09/07/2015 4:05 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

Indian Women's Cricket Team Wins ODI Series Against New Zealand


The Indian women's cricket team won the international one-day international series against New Zealand on Wednesday, with a close 3-2 finish. The nine wickets victory in the final match was a far cry from the beginning of the series, where India was initially down 1-2.

After the win, the Board of Control for Cricket in Indian (BCCI) announced a cash award of Rs 21 lakh for the team.

"Congratulations to our skipper Mithali Raj on leading the team with distinction and registering a series win against the New Zealand," said BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya in a media statement. "Team has shown remarkable character to come back from 1-2 to and win the series."

In the final match, the New Zealand team was all out in 41 overs, with only a run tally of 118. Seven of their team members were sent back to pavilion with single digit scores to their name. The top scorer for the Kiwis was Suzie Bates with 42 runs.

Left-arm spinner Rajeswari Gayekwad had the best figures with two wickets while giving away 15 runs. Jhulan Goswami and Deepti Sharma took two wickets too.

India, in its turn, reached the target in 27.2 overs, with DT Thirushkamini scoring 62 off 78 balls with 13 boundaries. Sharma, who had taken two wickets earlier, scored an unbeaten 44 off 78 balls with eight boundaries.

BCCI Hon. Secretary Anurag Thakur commended the team's "dominant performance", congratulating skipper Raj for crossing 5,000 runs with this series.

"This five-match ODI series proved to be competitive and was a wonderful showcase for the skill and class of women's cricket," he said. "It augurs well for the future."

(with PTI inputs)

Contact HuffPost India