15/04/2015 2:59 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

Janata Parivar Merger: Six Parties Join Together, Headed By Mulayam Singh

Samajwadi Party President Mulayam Singh Yadav addresses a public rally “Desh Banao, Desh Bachao”, or “Make the Country, Save the Country”, in Allahabad, India, Sunday, March 2, 2014. India’s biggest state, Uttar Pradesh, has 80 Loksabha, or lower parliamentary house, seats in the general elections later this year. Portrait of party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav is seen in the background. (AP Photo/Rajesh Kumar Singh)

NEW DELHI — Six political parties came together on Wednesday to announce the formation of 'Janata Parivar' - vowing to fight communal forces in India. Led by Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, the heads of the six parties announced the official formation on Wednesday evening.

The six parties, apart from the SP, are Nitish's Janata Dal-United (JD-U), Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Om Prakash Chautala's Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda's Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S).

Leaders from the six parties had earlier met at Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Mulayam Singh's Delhi residence.

"We are hopeful of an announcement today (Wednesday). We have authorized Mulayam ji for this merger," JD-U leader and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar had told reporters in the national capital.

The meeting comes ahead of the Bihar assembly polls scheduled for later this year.

Sources said in the meeting, the group will endorse Nitish Kumar as the merged entity's chief ministerial candidate for Bihar.

(with agency inputs)

Like Us On Facebook |
Follow Us On Twitter |
Contact HuffPost India

More On This Topic