08/04/2015 9:49 AM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

IPL Kicks Off In Star-Studded Splendour In Kolkata

IPL Twitter

The eighth edition of the Indian Premier League kicked off in star-studded splendour at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on Tuesday night.

The opening ceremony of the cricket tournament, delayed because of heavy rain, began around 9:00 pm. Despite being drenched, the crowd erupted in cheers and applause for the captains of all eight competing teams - Gautam Gambhir, David Warner, George Bailey, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Shane Watson, Virat Kohli and JP Duminy - when they posed with the IPL trophy on stage.

The Bollywood highlights included Saif Ali Khan playing host, Shahid Kapoor riding a bike onto the stage, Anushka Sharma dancing to songs from "PK" and "Jab Tak Hai Jaan," Farhan Akhtar performing with his band, and Hrithik Roshan wrapping up the ceremony by shaking a leg to numbers from Bang and Dhoom 2.

Contact HuffPost India