30/03/2015 7:11 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

No Indian In ICC's 2015 Cricket World Cup Team

India's Umesh Yadav appeals for a wicket during their Cricket World Cup Pool B match against the United Arab Emirates in Perth, Australia, Saturday, Feb 28, 2015. (AP Photo/Theron Kirkman)

MELBOURNE: No Indian features in the 2015 International Cricket Council's (ICC) World Cup team, according to a release by the sport's governing body on Monday.

India were defeated by eventual champions Australia in the semi-finals of the competition. India remained unbeaten till the tournament's last-four stage, bowling out opponents in seven consecutive matches along with some strong performances by a powerful batting order.

According to the release, the names of Indian bowlers Umesh Yadav (18 wickets), Mohammad Shami (17 wickets) and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin (13 wickets) were discussed as possible selections in the team but ultimately they didn't make it due to superior individual performances by others.

Pacer Umesh Yadav finished as the third-highest wicket taker in the tournament with 18 wickets behind Man-of-the-Tournament Australia's Mitchell Starc (22 wickets) and New Zealand's Trent Boult (22 wickets).

"There were a number of other players that were discussed as possible selections in the team. These included batsmen Mahmudullah Riyad (Bangladesh) and Shaiman Anwar (the United Arab Emirates), Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami (India), Wahab Riaz (Pakistan) and spinners Imran Tahir (South Africa) and Ravichandran Ashwin (India)," Geoff Allardice, ICC general manager of cricket and chairman of the selection panel, said on Monday.

"But there were so many brilliant individual performances during the tournament that it was not possible to fit them into the team. The panel eventually came up with this side, which, in their view, was the most balanced outfit that is capable of beating any side on any given day," Allardice said.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan who scored 412 runs in the tournament with two centuries also couldn't find a place in the team.

New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum was chosen as the captain following his aggressive leadership during the tournament that was the cornerstone of his team's progression to the final where it lost to Australia by seven wickets.

In addition to McCullum, the side includes four New Zealanders -- all-rounder Corey Anderson, pacer Trent Boult, opener Martin Guptill and spinner Daniel Vettori.

Australia has three players in the squad, all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, batsman Steven Smith and pacer Starc.

Two South Africans, skipper AB de Villiers and seamer Morne Morkel, with Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara as wicketkeeper-batsman have been selected.

Zimbabwe batsman Brendan Taylor, who finished with 433 runs in six matches, was named as the 12th man.

The team:

Brendon McCullum (New Zealand, captain), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, wicketkeeper), Steve Smith (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Corey Anderson (New Zealand), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe) (12th man).

Contact HuffPost India

US Election
The latest polls, breaking news and analysis on the 2020 US presidential election from HuffPost