11/03/2015 8:28 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

First Look: Stunning Illustrations That Designers Created For Lakme Fashion Week '15

Tarun Tahiliani

One of India’s best-recognised podiums for fashion, Lakme Fashion Week completes 15 years in March 2015. This week looks at outdoing its previous efforts with 84 designing participants and their creative Spring-Summer collections. Several designers have shared the sketches from their collections as a sneak peek.

The motley crew of standard favourites - Tarun Tahiliani, Suneet Varma, Manish Malhotra will be showcasing. Noted designer Raghavendra Rathore will be launching a Bandhgala line for women, while Suneet Varma combines the opulence of Punjabi royalty and Rajasthani colours with a modern twist.

This year shall also see several emerging designers all set to mark their niche in the industry including Gauri Khan for Satya Paul. Khan's ‘Tropical Wonder’ holiday line mixes aquatics, pastels and citrusy hues into flowing caftans, light saris and dresses. Another much-awaited newbie is MadSam TinZin, a brand of four designers, which features a courtyard-inspired collection with geometrical prints.

While Anamika Khanna has been selected as this year’s finale designer — her line ‘Sculpt’ inspired by architectural design will be specially presented at a historic site — celebrated designer Sabyasachi shall open the show on March 17. Manish Malhotra also has something special planned: his WEvolve-inspired collection aims to empower young women and men against gender-based violence.

Here is a look at some of the sketches from this years LFW 2015:

  • Ujjawal Dubey
  • Anavila Misra
  • Parul Bhargava
  • Mayank-Shraddha
  • Shon Randhawa
  • Shilpa Reddy
  • Ridhi Mehra
  • Munkee See Munkee Doo
  • Ridhi Mehra
  • Kunal Anil Tanna
  • Shilpa Reddy
  • Suneet Varma
  • Suneet Varma
  • Suneet Varma
  • MadSam TinZin
  • MadSam TinZin
  • Satya Paul - By Gauri Khan
  • Satya Paul - By Gauri Khan
  • Arpita Mehta
  • Papa Dont Preach
  • Quirkbox
  • Aiman Agha & Armaan Randhawa
  • Surya Sarkar
  • Anushree Reddy
  • Kanika Sachdeva
  • MadSam TinZIn
  • Masaba Gupta
  • Ragini Ahuja
  • Love Birds
  • Tarun Tahiliani
  • Tarun Tahiliani
  • Tarun Tahiliani
  • Shivan & Narresh
  • Wendell Rodricks
  • Raghavendra Rathore
  • Manish Malhotra
  • Gaurang Shah
  • Akshay Kumar walks the ramp for Tarun Tahiliani, 2009
  • An overhead view of Anamika Khanna's Grand Finale in March 2009
  • Isha Koppikar walks for Anita Dongre, 2007
  • Anushka Sharma dons Manish Malhotra for his Grand Finale, 2008
  • Ashish Soni back in 2001
  • Katrina Kaif takes part in the Barbie Show, 2009
  • The Disney-inspired show, 2012
  • Gauri and Nainika walk with Deepika Padukone, 2010
  • Gen Next Masaba, 2010
  • Anamika Khanna, 2002
  • Varun Bahl strikes a pose with his Grand Finale models, 2005
  • The Grand Finale of 2000
  • The Grand Finale of 2004
  • Kareena Kapoor shares a moment with Manish Malhotra at last year's Grand Finale
  • Jaya Bachchan in 2001 at Gautam Rajadhyaksha's Lakme Timeless Beauty
  • JJ Valaya back in 2000
  • Kabir Bedi for Narendra Kumar 2011
    Kabir Bedi for Narendra Kumar 2011
    Kabir Bedi strikes a statement in a Narendra Kumar ensemble, 2011
  • Sabysachi's debut show in 2002
  • Kangana Ranaut walks for Narendra Kumar, 2008
  • Kareena Kapoor in 2001 was labelled Lakme's Timeless Beauty
  • An iconic Kiran Uttam Ghosh outfit, 2004
  • Grand Finale by Ritu Beri, 2006
  • Preity Zinta and Kajol Devgan make an elegant statement as they walk down the ramp with Manish Malhotra, 2006
  • An overhead view of Manish Malhotra's collection, 2011
  • Manish Malhotra and Rohit Bal back in 2001
  • Manish Malhotra and Shahrukh Khan arm-in-arm in March 2009
  • manju and Boby Grover and Gala Designer Show- 2000
    manju and Boby Grover and Gala Designer Show- 2000
  • Masaba Gupta accentuates Shilpa Shetty's curves, 2014
  • Bipasha Basu pretty in yellow for Narendra Kumar, 2008
  • A much younger Sayasachi in 2003
  • Neeta Lulla and Sushmita Sen, 2007
  • Karishma Kapoor for Vikram Phadnis, 2013)
  • Raghavendra Rathore, 2003
  • Sabyasachi's opulent Finale from 2009
  • Ranbir Kapoor for Arjun Khanna, 2008
  • Sabyasachi, 2013
  • Satya Paul, colourful in 2005
  • Shivan & Narresh's eclectic swimwear, 2012
  • Behind the scenes with stylist Aki Narula, 2011
  • Suneet Varma, 2004
  • Tarun Tahiliani is snowed upon, 2003
  • Wendell Rodricks, 2004