26/02/2015 5:20 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:25 AM IST

Dilshan, Sangakkara Power Sri Lanka To 92-Run Win Over Bangladesh

Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara drives the ball against New Zealand during the opening match of the Cricket World Cup at Christchurch, New Zealand, Saturday, Feb. 14, 2015. (AP Photo/Ross Setford)

Melbourne — Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara, playing in his 400th ODI, hit strokeful centuries to power Sri Lanka to a comfortable 92-run victory over Bangladesh in a Group A match of the cricket World Cup here today.

Electing to bat at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sri Lanka rode on Dilshan's 161 and Sangakkara's 105 to notch up a formidable 332 for one in the stipulated 50 overs.

The islanders, winner of the 1996 edition, then bowled out Bangladesh for 240 in 47 overs to register their second win in three matches.

They had lost to New Zealand in the their tournament opener but regrouped to beat Afghanistan before today's result.

Sangakkara became the fourth cricketer to appear in 400 ODIs. After the Dilshan-Sangakkara duo laid a solid foundation with a 210-run unbeaten partnership for the second wicket, experienced pace spearhead Lasith Malinga (3/35) led the bowling unit admirably to complete an all-round display by the runner-up of the previous tournament.

Chasing a stiff target, Bangladesh, who have so far failed to make an impression in the mega-event, never looked in the hunt as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Aggressive opener Tamim Iqbal was out for a duck and Mominul Haque made one run to leave the Asian minnows reeling at 41 for three.

Anamul Haque (29), Soumya Sarkar (25 off a mere 15 balls with the help of five boundaries) and Mahmudullah (28) all got starts but could not convert into big scores.

Lower-order batsman Sabbir Rahman was the top-scorer for Bangladesh with a knock of 53 off 62 balls (7x4), while all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan contributed a 59-ball 46 with the help of four boundaries and a six before the Lankan bowlers ran through the tail.

Besides Malinga, Dilshan and Suranga Lakmal picked up two wickets apiece, while there was one apiece for skipper Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera.