10/02/2015 5:14 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:24 AM IST

The 3 BJP Candidates Who Survived The AAP Tsunami

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses an election campaign rally for his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of Delhi state election in New Delhi, India, Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015. Delhi goes to the polls on Feb. 7. (AP Photo/Saurabh Das)

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party has won three seats in Delhi after more than seven hours of counting.

Here are the BJP leaders, who have survived this overwhelming Aam Aadmi Party sweep.

Vijender Gupta

The ex-Delhi BJP president won the Rohini seat, beating AAP's CL Gupta with a margin of 5,367 votes. The 51-year-old graduate of Shri Ram College of Commerce was brought in to replace BJP's 2013 candidate Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal, who had lost the election to AAP with a 1.72 percent margin. AAP changed its Rohini candidate too for the election, but failed to retain its seat.

Jagdish Pradhan

The 60-year-old BJP leader reclaimed the Mustafabad seat on Tuesday with a margin of 6,031 votes. Pradhan defeated Congress' Hasan Ahmed, who had won in the 2013 Delhi elections with a 1.3 percent margin.

Om Prakash Sharma

The BJP leader retained the Vishwas Nagar seat in east Delhi, which he had won in 2013 after beating incumbent Naseeb Singh from Congress. Singh has slipped to the third position this elections, losing also to AAP candidate Dr. Atul Gupta.

IN PICS: 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections

More On This Topic